Perfume pouches popular at Dragon Boat Festival.

Screen Shot 2015-06-15 at 11.42.58

Screen Shot 2015-06-15 at 11.43.12 Screen Shot 2015-06-15 at 11.43.22 Screen Shot 2015-06-15 at 11.43.45

 

Colourful pouches are worn at Dragon Boat Festival.  These are filled with Chinese spices and herbs.  The idea is that they ward off disease and promote good health.

Have a go at making your own pouch.  These are usually made of silk or other cloth and tied with ‘five coloured silk’.  You could always make your own version by using five colours of cotton twisted together.  Fill your pouch with nice smelling fresh herbs, cloves or other whole spices.

 

2 thoughts on “Perfume pouches popular at Dragon Boat Festival.

  1. Hello! I am hosting a teacher meet-up and we want to make these as a craft project for the Dragon Boat Festival. Is there a simple pattern that I can follow? I need to teach it to 100-200 teachers!

    • I’m sorry, I don’t have a pattern. It’s such a long time since I did this activity. I do remember searching online for craft pouches and using some youtube videos as guidance.
      Good luck with your teacher meet-up.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *